3rd NZCS Awards (2018) winner list

Cinematographer of the year

NZCS Trophy

Andrew Stroud

The Changeover

Al Guilford Emerging Cinematographer Award

NZCS Plaque, pan glass and $2000 grant towards
career development

Maria Ines Manchego

HMH: The Suncatcher

Turtz Award for contribution to cinematography

NZCS Plaque Andrew Roelants
and Chris McKenzie


NZCS Accreditation

Accreditation Certificate

Renaud Maire NZCS

Accreditation Certificate

Ginny Loane NZCS

Accreditation Certificate

Simon Raby NZCS

Accreditation CertificateDonald Duncan NZCS 
Accreditation CertificateJohn Cavill NZCS 

Student films


Adam Joseph Browne



Caleb Corlett

Lisa and the Moon


GoldMaria Ines ManchegoHMH: The Suncatcher

Ziga Zupancic

New Zealand Defence Force
GoldLachlan Milne ACSSpeights: The Dance
SilverKieran Fowler NZCS ACSLand Rover: We're for Rugby
SilverClayton CarpinterAJ Hackett: Live More, Fear Less

John Toon NZCS ACS


Music videos


Ziga Zupancic

Madly Cloud Nine

Dale Bremner ACS

Nancy Ajram: W Maak
Silver Ziga Zupancic
Nika: Future Lover
Silver Simon GidsiffHa the Unclear: Secret Lives of Furniture

Richard Parsonson

Louis Baker: Black Crow
Bronze Ben Ruffell

Kuro Deko: A Ghost in Town

News and current affairs


Greg Riwai

Native Affairs: The Dark Horse


Phil Johnson

Stuff: Caught
SilverMartin Anderson
Sunday: The Secret Stopover, North Korea
Silver John FlemingThe Nation: Oil Pipe Dreams
BronzeJohn FlemingThe Nation: Wake Up and Smell the Coffee
Bronze Grant Findlay
The Project: Edi's Satchel

Corporate and Educational

Gold Clayton CarpinterHP: The Creators, Luke Haigh
SilverJohn Toon NZCS ACS
McDonalds: Never Had One
BronzeMark Lapwood ACSAmazing Archaeology
BronzePeter YoungChristchurch Story

Magazine, lifestyle and reality

GoldGregoire AubourgChruch Road: Journeys of Discovery
GoldClayton CarpinterTopp Country: Fermentation
SilverGreg ParkerWaka Huia: Reveata Makiha

Short films

Gold Matt HenleyCharmer
Gold Ian McCarrollThe Brother
Gold Ian McCarrollMy Friend Michael Jones
Silver Raymond EdwardsFalling Up
Silver Andrew Commis ACSI Will Not Write Unless I am Swaddled in Furs
Silver Kieran Fowler NZCS ACSJackrabbit


GoldSimon Raby NZCSThe Heart Dances: The Story of The Piano, the Ballet
SilverGrant AdamsSpookers
SilverBevan CrothersStan
BronzeHunter CrouchleyGlimpse
BronzeHunter CrouchleyIn Pot Pursuit
BronzeMathew KnightAll In The Mind

Dramatised documentaries

GoldScott LeeCold Case: Mona
SilverDave Cameron NZCS ACSRoman Empire: Julius Caesar, Master of Rome
SilverBevan CrothersMaui's Hook
SilverMathew KnightMistress Mercy

Specialised cinematography

GoldMurray Milne NZCSCoast New Zealand
GoldSam PeacockeInternational Olympic Committee: Become the Light
SilverDale Bremner ACSShinkari
SilverSimon GodsiffAntartica: While You Were Sleeping
SilverSam Peacocke OVO Energy: It's Time to Power Your Life
BronzeDavid Paul NZCSHot Words and Bold Retorts
2nd Unit - GoldAndrew McGeorgeThe Meg
2nd Unit - BronzeDavid Paul NZCSAmercian Playboys: The Hugh Hefner Story


GoldDavid GarbettAsh vs Evil Dead Series 3: Episode 10
GoldDale McCready NZCSTin Star Series 1: Episode 5
GoldDave Cameron NZCS ACSDear Murderer: Episode 4
SilverDJ StipsenMurder is Forever Series 1: Episode 3
SilverAaron Morton NZCSBlack Mirror Series 4: Metalhead
SilverDenson Baker NZCS ACSVictoria Series 2: Comfort and Joy


GoldDave Cameron NZCS ACSIn a Flash
GoldAlun Bollinger NZCSIn Dark Places
SilverDavid Paul NZCSKiwi
SilverJohn Cavill NZCSScars of Nanking


GoldDenson Baker NZCS ACSMeasure of a Man
GoldJohn ChrisstoffelsHuman Traces
GoldAndrew StroudThe Changeover
SilverRichard Bluck NZCSThe Monkey King 3
BronzeJoe HitchcockShepherd
BronzeDonald Duncan NZCSKiwi Christmas

NZCS Major National Sponsor


NZCS Major National Sponsor

NZCS Platinum Sponsors

NZCS Gold Sponsors

NZCS Awards Silver Sponsors

NZCS Awards Bronze Sponsors

NZCS Awards additional in-kind sponsors


NZCS other corporate members

Ariel Camera Limited
CR Kennedy NZ Ltd
Halcyon Digital
Rubber Monkey
Gencom Technology
Boxfish Robotics

Prices include GST
© 2008- 2021 New Zealand Cinematographers Society 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software